MeMyself&I

PhD: the journey has begun

Posted on: May 26, 2009

I wonder if every PhD candidate feels the same way when they commence their PhD candidature… full of hope and aspirations, with ambitions that appear unreachable. How many actually get there and reach the top of their game? Or is it something like the one depicted below?

 

Source: http://www.phdcomics.com/comics/archive.php?comicid=1012

Source: "Piled Higher and Deeper" by Jorge Cham http://www.phdcomics.com/comics/archive.php?comicid=1012

 

Well right now, I do have ambitions, though I should say not at the Nobel Prize level. But I am also full of fear… fear of the unknown. I’ve embarked on what appears to be very much a solo journey but should it remain to be so? Perhaps it is because of how I am approaching my journey – somewhat closed – like putting a password to my blog on the framing of my PhD. Why did I do this, what was my fear exactly? That someone might adopt my ideas before I could secure a candidature? Perhaps. 

Dare I say I’ve had an epiphany… that despite my advocacy for social networking in this brave new world, I didn’t practice what I preached. I’m embarrassed to admit this but I’m glad that I came to the realisation sooner rather than later. How can I grow if my world remains closed, how can I reach my life ambition in a closed world? 

I need someone to share my journey, in fact I need the whole world in this journey… so I will use this space to share anything and everything I could to chronicle my PhD-related work, and anything in between.

2 Responses to "PhD: the journey has begun"

I always related to this one, and I had it stuck up the wall above my study space for about 3 years 🙂 http://www.phdcomics.com/comics/archive.php?comicid=124

I was disappointed that your PhD posts were locked.

Good luck, it can be a lonely journey at times.

[…] always preparing for the worst. Well now I am throwing caution to the wind… as noted in my earlier post, I want to share this journey. Let this be the small beginning of my […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,471 hits

My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS My Links

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

