MeMyself&I

Starting my PhD-related blogs

Posted on: October 23, 2008

Well I have procrastinated long enough, and my boss David Jones knows this trait of mine only too well. David happens to be one of the most prolific bloggers I know… check him out, and gave me an ultimatum to blog my thinking about my PhD enrolment. I will start by reflecting on the following questions/ideas in separate posts:

What is the aim of your thesis? What’s your question or problem? I think this is something to do with your perception that what you are currently doing is not scalable.

– Why isn’t scalable? What is the source of the problems you are facing?

– What’s your definition of capacity building?

– Why is capacity building important to learning design/universities?

– What have people already written about this?

– What are the problems with what they’ve written?

One of my problems is narrowing down the problem/question, so hopefully this blogging exercise will finally get me focused.

1 Response to "Starting my PhD-related blogs"

Nona,

If your problem is narrowing it down. One solution might be to start with a narrow question.

e.g. “What is capacity building?”

Alternatively, just tell a story about your own experience that summarises the problem that is driving your research. Leave the academic analysis of the different components till later.

The story doesn’t have to be 100% true, but at least representative.

David.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 10,454 hits

My Tweets

RSS My Links

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

